ASA Midwest Honors

Posted on June 10, 2014

REPRINT from Saint Louis Construction News and Real Estate (CNR) - May 1, 2014

Local subcontractors held their annual celebratory gala on April 26th to honor the best contractors in the business. The American Subcontractors Association-Midwest Council hosted the 22nd Annual Awards Gala at the Four Seasons Hotel in Downtown St. Louis.

ASA members nominate and vote for the best general contractor in three categories based on the size of the business. Past winners of the general contractor awards nominate and vote for the best subcontractors.

The criteria for best general contractors are: Bid Ethics Practice, Equitable Contract Provisions, Safety Policy & Practice, Payment Practices, Jobsite Supervision, Scheduling Coordination, Subcontractor Relations and Administrative Procedures.

The yardsticks for best subcontractors are: Bid Ethics Practice, Safety Policy & Practices, Jobsite Supervision, Communication, Scheduling Coordination, Project Relations, Administrative Procedures and Quality Workmanship.

All voting is kept confidential until the awards ceremony.

The winners of the 2014 Awards Gala were:

  • Best General Contractor Category A (above $50 million in gross revenues)—BSI Constructors, Inc.,
  • Best General Contractor Category B ($20 - $50 million in gross revenues)—McGrath & Asscociates,
  • Best General Contractor Category C (under $20 million in gross revenues)—G.H. Voss Co.
  • Best MEP Subcontractor Category A (above $11.5 million in gross revenues)—Kaemmerlen Electric,
  • Best MEP Subcontractor Category B (under $11.5 million in gross revenues)—Duct Systems, Inc.,
  • Best Specialty Subcontractor Category A (above $11.5 million in gross revenues)—Vee-Jay Cement Contracting and
  • Best Specialty Subcontractor Category B (under $11.5 million in gross revenues)—AME Constructors.

Other awards given at the gala were:

  • Best General Contractor Field Employee—Benj Meyer, Kadean Construction,
  • Best General Contractor Office Employee—Carol Barrett, McGrath & Associates,
  • Service Provider/Supplier of the Year--Volvo Rents,
  • Industry Person of the Year--Walter Bazan Jr., Bazan Painting and
  • Owner of the Year--Steve Sobo, Washington University School of Medicine

ASA Member Safety Awards were given to:

  • Division I (over 1,000,000 man hours)— PayneCrest Electric, Inc.,
  • Division II (500,000 – 1,000,000 man hours)—Vee-Jay Cement Contracting,
  • Division III (200,000 – 500,000 man hours)—Kirberg Company,
  • Division IV (100,000 – 200,000 man hours)—John J. Smith Masonry Co. and Golterman & Sabo, Inc.,
  • Division V (50,000 – 100,000 man hours)—Drilling Service Company and
  • Division VI (under 50,000 man hours)—American Steel Fabrication and Swanson Masonry, Inc.

Back to News